FOP statements on the failure to override Governor's veto of MAP funding bill > ILFOP

SPRINGFIELD – The Illinois Fraternal Order of Police (FOP) State Lodge and Labor Council have issued the following statements regarding the Illinois General Assembly's failure to override the Governor's veto of a bill that would have authorized spending on the Monetary Award Program (MAP), which helps tens of thousands of students in Illinois to afford college.

            “Illinois campus police units which include hundreds of FOP members face the threat of reduced staffing levels and patrols as a direct result of individual lawmakers who have demonstrated they care more for their political hides than the educational needs of our college and university students,” said FOP State Lodge President Chris Southwood. “Now, fewer students will be able to attend school in Illinois, and those who stay may rightfully wonder if the campuses are as safe as they could be.”

            “Legislators who voted against the veto override claim the money isn't there to help students and working families afford a college education. That's utter nonsense. They have demonstrated a willingness to pass appropriations on court ordered programs and things that matter to them during this budget impasse,” said FOP Labor Council Executive Director David Wickster. “It is about priorities. It's obvious that what matters most to those who supported the veto is pleasing their billionaire Governor who is giving millions of dollars to their re-election campaigns. Their stance means we now have less police protection where we need it on our campuses. Government's number one function should be protecting its citizens, not putting politics ahead of public safety.”      

            The following colleges and universities employ FOP members in some security or enforcement capacity: Chicago State University, College of DuPage, College of Lake County, Eastern Illinois University, Governors State University, Illinois State University, Joliet Junior College, Oakton Community College,  Rock Valley Community College, Southern Illinois University Carbondale, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, University of Illinois at Chicago, University of Illinois at Springfield, University of Chicago, and Western Illinois University.  

Actions: E-mail | Permalink |

Legislative Committee

Your Legislative Committee

Keith Turney, Chair (Joliet)

Todd Adkisson, (Troopers)

Kevin Farrell, (Cook County)

Kevin Graham, (Chicago)

Tom Lonergan, (Chicago)

Tom McDonagh, (Chicago)

Greg Johnson, (IDOC)

Terry Trueblood(Sec. of State)

David Wickster, (Oak Park)

Chris Southwood, (IL State Lodge President)