ILFOP State Lodge and FOP Labor Council Statement on Fox Lake Suicide > ILFOP

SPRINGFIELD – The Illinois Fraternal Order of Police (FOP) State Lodge and Labor Council have issued the following joint statement regarding the recent information released about the Fox Lake officer shooting:

“We praise our fellow officers who immediately and selflessly responded to the call and put the community's well-being first. We join the community in breathing a sigh of relief while sharing their pain and confusion over this incident. Rather than dwelling on the circumstances surrounding the actions of one, let's remember and appreciate what hundreds of law enforcement officers did over several weeks when called to respond. They are the true professionals in this case.”

Attribute statement to: Chris Southwood, President, Illinois FOP State Lodge; and David Wickster, Executive Director, Illinois FOP Labor Council.

The Fraternal Order of Police State Lodge, founded in 1915, is the largest organization of sworn law enforcement officers in the United States. With a proud tradition of officers representing officers, the FOP is the most respected and most recognized police organization in the country. The Illinois FOP, chartered in 1963, is the second largest State Lodge, proudly representing more than 32,000 active duty and retired police officers - more than 10 percent of all FOP members nationwide. Visit for more information.


            The Illinois Fraternal Order of Police Labor Council is a law enforcement union representing more than 11,600 professionals in more than 514 bargaining units who work in the criminal justice system. The Labor Council negotiates and enforces contracts and  improves salaries, working conditions, and benefits for law enforcement professionals throughout Illinois. Its members include police officers who work for municipalities, universities, and elected Constitutional officials; county sheriff’s deputies, correctional and court security officers; probation officers; 911 telecommunicators; law enforcement records personnel; and some related support staff.

Actions: E-mail | Permalink |

Legislative Committee

Your Legislative Committee

Keith Turney, Chair (Joliet)

Todd Adkisson, (Troopers)

Kevin Farrell, (Cook County)

Kevin Graham, (Chicago)

Tom Lonergan, (Chicago)

Tom McDonagh, (Chicago)

Greg Johnson, (IDOC)

Terry Trueblood(Sec. of State)

David Wickster, (Oak Park)

Chris Southwood, (IL State Lodge President)